The League of Nations

After the first world war (1914-1918), in the first part of the Versailles Peace Treaty of June 28, 1919, signed between the victorious powers and Germany, the League of Nations was instituted to "promote cooperation between nations and to guarantee peace and security ”(Preamble to the Pact). The Organization established its headquarters in Geneva, and its institutional structure was as follows: an Assembly, composed of representatives of all the member states; a Council that was made up of permanent and elected members; a Secretariat and other subsidiary bodies. The Covenant also provided (art. 14) for the creation of a judicial body, the Permanent Court of International Justice, which was subsequently established as a separate organ of the League of Nations. 

(Taken from an excerpt from the Course on Public International Law and International Organizations by the prominent Professor José Antonio Pastor Ridruejo).